May 1, 1848, at Jefferson College in Canonsburg, Pennsylvania.


The “Immortal Six”: John Templeton McCarty, Samuel Beatty Wilson, James Elliott Jr., Ellis Bailey Gregg, Daniel Webster Crofts and Naaman Fletcher.

Our Greek Letters

Members of Phi Gamma Delta hold our Greek letters in reverence. Therefore, we limit their display to a select number of places, such as the front of the chapter house, the fraternity flag, class rings, and the member badge. When our Fraternity is named in campus or interfraternity publications, we prefer the full spelling of Phi Gamma Delta rather than use of the Greek letters or the nickname Fiji.


Phi Gam or Fiji


 Phi Gamma Delta Crest



 Flower & Color

Flower: Purple Clematis

Color: Royal Purple




 Mascot - Snowy White Owl



Phi Gamma Delta Archives

For more details about our history, please visit the Phi Gamma Delta Archives website or the Archives Digital Repository.

 Back to the top

Mission, Vision & Values


Phi Gamma Delta unites men in enduring friendships, stimulates the pursuit of knowledge, and builds courageous leaders who serve the world with the best that is in them.


To be an active, vital force of men who courageously live our values and make a positive impact on college and community.


 Friendship  |   Knowledge  |   Service
 Morality  |   Excellence

 Back to the top



  • 196,000+ brothers initiated since 1848
  • 11,000+ undergraduate brothers

Chapters/Colonies in the United States & Canada

  • 144 Chapters
  • 5 Colonies
  • 70 Graduate Chapters

International Leadership


The Archonate is the governing board of directors. Comprised of seven graduate brothers and two undergraduates, nine brothers serve two year commitments guiding the Fraternity between Ekklesiai.

 2020-22 Archons


 Nic Loiacono
(Illinois 1974)

Brother Loiacono was elected Archon President by the 172nd Ekklesia in August 2020.

Learn more about Nic.


Archon Vice

 Bill Hunnicutt
(Texas Arlington 1981)

Brother Hunnicutt was elected Archon Vice President by the 172nd Ekklesia in August 2020.

Learn more about Bill.



 Don Herman
(Calgary 1984)

Brother Herman was elected Archon Treasurer by the 172nd Ekklesia in August 2020.

Learn more about Don.


Ritualist Ed Gabe

 Ed Gabe
(Hanover 1990)

Brother Gabe was elected Archon Secretary by the 172nd Ekklesia in August 2020.

Learn more about Ed.


Ritualist Ed Gabe

 Tom Waldon
(Iowa State 1979)

Brother Waldon was elected Archon Councilor by the 170th Ekklesia in Dallas in July 2018.

Learn more about Tom.



 Dana Hesse
(Virginia Tech 1986, Western Kentucky 2016)

Brother Hesse was elected Archon Councilor by the 172nd Ekklesia in August 2020.

Learn more about Dana.



 Tim Kilduff
(Kent State 1968)

Brother Kilduff was elected Archon Councilor by the 172nd Ekklesia in August 2020.

Learn more about Tim.



 Davis Hardell
(Georgia 2021)

Brother Hardell was appointed as an Archon Councilor by the Archons in August 2019.

Learn more about Davis.



 Jack Foley
(Ohio Wesleyan 2022)

Brother Foley was elected Archon Councilor by the 172nd Ekklesia in August 2020.

Learn more about Jack.




Appointed General Officers

The Fraternity has eight Appointed General Officer volunteer positions, which the Archons appoint. Seven of these brothers serve in “specialist” roles for the Fraternity, and the Section Chief is the eighth position.  These brothers serve as volunteers but are available to Chapters for consultation on matters involving their area of emphasis.

 Current Appointed General Officers

If you have questions for one of the Appointed General Officers, please contact the International Headquarters.

Executive Director Bill Martin

Curator of Archives

 Joe Weist
(Rose-Hulman 1987)

Joe preserves and catalogs all Phi Gamma Delta memorabilia and historical records. He oversees the museum at the International Headquarters and Archives Weekend.

The Curator of Archives can be a resource to your chapter if you are interested in preserving archives and other important historical records.


Director of Housing


The Director of Housing, working with a housing committee, advises chapters and the Archons on issues of house financing, safety, maintenance and acquisition.


Education Director Bill Bracewell
Educational Director

 Amelious Whyte
(Minnesota Faculty)

Amelious advises the Archons and the Ekklesia in matters relating to the scholarship and educational programming at each chapter. He obtains the scholastic standing of each undergraduate chapter on its campus and certifies to the Archons all instances when chapters are delinquent in scholarship.

The Educational Director is a resource to undergraduate chapters wishing to improve their academic and/or educational programming.


General Counsel

 Jim Boyers
(Hanover 1994)

Jim is an attorney who advises the Archons and the Ekklesia in matters relating to the formulation and interpretation of the Constitution, Bylaws of the Fraternity and other legal matters affecting the Fraternity.


Towner Blackstock

 Towner Blackstock
(Davidson 1994)

Towner collects, records and perpetuates all statistics and facts of interest pertaining to the Fraternity, its chapters and its members. During this process, he is encouraged to revise or add to the volumes of our Fraternity history books.

The Historian can serve as a resource to chapters wanting to document and preserve their own chapter history.


Public Relations

 Mike Sacks
(James Madison 2004)

Mike protects and promotes the good name of Phi Gamma Delta by playing a leadership role in publicizing good works of the Fraternity and its chapters and handling crisis situations.

The Public Relations Director can be a resource to chapters on public relations matters.



 Justin Burns
(Ohio State 2007)

Justin is fully versed in every phase of the Fraternity's ritualistic ceremonies. It is his duty to answer all communications regarding the rituals, to prescribe their use and to interpret their meaning. He is also responsible for enforcing uniformity among all chapters in their observance of the ceremonies.

The Ritualist can be a resource for chapters wanting to improve their performance of the Ritual.


Section Chiefs

The Section Chief is an Appointed General Officer who is the primary recruiter for graduate volunteers within Phi Gamma Delta's geographical sections. The Section Chief works to see that each chapter has an active Purple Legionnaire, Board of Chapter Advisors and House Corporation.

Search Section Chief Directory   

 Back to the top

Purple Legionnaires

The Purple Legionnaire is the principal graduate brother responsible for advising a chapter at the local level.

Search Purple Legionnaire Directory   

 Back to the top

Our Chapters

Search the Graduate Chapter Directory   

 Back to the top

Undergrad Chapter Directory   

Graduate Chapter Directory   

Section Chief Directory   

Purple Legionnaire Directory