May 1, 1848, at Jefferson College in Canonsburg, Pennsylvania


The “Immortal Six”: John Templeton McCarty, Samuel Beatty Wilson, James Elliott Jr., Ellis Bailey Gregg, Daniel Webster Crofts and Naaman Fletcher

Our Greek Letters

Members of Phi Gamma Delta hold our Greek letters in reverence.
Therefore, we limit their display to a select number of places, such as the front of the chapter house, the fraternity flag, class rings, and the member badge. When our Fraternity is named in campus or interfraternity publications, we prefer the full spelling of Phi Gamma Delta rather than use of the Greek letters or the nickname Fiji.


Fiji or Phi Gam


 Phi Gamma Delta Crest



 Flower - Purple Clematis



Royal Purple




 Mascot - Snowy White Owl, "Gamma"


Biennial Convention



Phi Gamma Delta Archives

For more details about our history, please visit the Phi Gamma Delta Archives website or the Archives Digital Repository.

 Back to the top

Mission & Values


"Phi Gamma Delta exists to promote lifelong friendships, to reaffirm high ethical standards and values, and to foster personal development in the pursuit of excellence. Phi Gamma Delta is committed to provide opportunities for each brother to develop responsibility, leadership, scholarship, and social skills in order to become a fully contributing member of society.”


Friendship, Knowledge, Service, Morality and Excellence

 Back to the top



  • 180,000+ brothers initiated since 1848
  • 10,000+ undergraduate brothers

Chapters and Colonies in the United States and Canada

  • 148 Chapters
  • 13 Colonies
  • 64 Graduate Chapters

 Back to the top

International Leadership


The Archonate is the governing board of directors. Comprised of seven graduate brothers and two undergraduates, nine brothers serve two year commitments guiding the Fraternity between Ekklesiai.

 2016-18 Archons

Archon VP Mike Lucas

Archon President
Brian Douglas
(Tennessee Tech 1998) 


Archon Vice President
Clark Robertson
(Nebraska 1982)

Archon Councilor Glenn Moor

Archon Treasurer
Nic Loiacono
(Illinois 1974)


Archon Secretary
Kevin Mitchelson
(Kansas 1979)


Archon Councilor
David Grady
(Mississippi State 1982)


Archon Councilor
Kit Russell
(William Jewell 2017)

Archon Councilor
Jim Link
(Ohio Wesleyan1982) 

Archon Councilor
Josh Holly
(Tennessee 1997)

Archon Councilor
Conner Gregory
(Vanderbilt 2018)


Appointed General Officers

The Fraternity has eight Appointed General Officer volunteer positions, which the Archons appoint. Seven of these brothers serve in “specialist” roles for the Fraternity, and the Section Chief is the eighth position.  These brothers serve as volunteers but are available to Chapters for consultation on matters involving their area of emphasis.

 Current Appointed General Officers

Towner Blackstock

Curator of Archives
Towner Blackstock
(Davidson 1994)


Director of Housing
Ron Sages
(Ohio 1973)

Educational Director
Bill Bracewell
(Georgia Faculty)


General Counsel
Alex Wylie
(Arizona State 1996)

Bill Parrish
(Westminster Faculty)

Public Relations Director
Josh Holly
(Tennessee 1997)


Ed Gabe
(Hanover 1990)


Section Chiefs

The Section Chief is the eighth Appointed General Officer, who is the primary recruiter for graduate volunteers within Phi Gamma Delta's 42 geographical sections. The Section Chief ensures each chapter has an active trained and productive Purple Legionnaire, Board of Chapter Advisors and House Corporation.

Search Section Chief Directory   

 Back to the top

Purple Legionnaires

The Purple Legionnaire is the principal graduate brother responsible for advising a chapter at the local level.

Search Purple Legionnaire Directory   

 Back to the top

Our Chapters

Search the Undergraduate Chapter Directory   

Search the Graduate Chapter Directory   

 Back to the top

Undergrad Chapter Directory   

Graduate Chapter Directory   

Section Chief Directory   

Purple Legionnaire Directory